Department of Statistics


Statistical Consulting Centre

The Department of Statistics provides statistical services and assistance to internal and external clients.


group-6Jul2011
The SCC team: Standing are Kai Xiong (no longer a consultant), Chris Triggs, and Avinesh Pillai. Seated are Kathy Ruggiero, Yannan Jiang and Jessica Thomas.

Our experienced consultants can help you resolve your statistical problems.

Our services include:

  • Advice on design of studies
  • Data analysis of all types
  • An expert witness service
  • Survey design and analysis
  • Advice on statistical computing packages. 

Our clients include Fisher & Paykel Healthcare, Air New Zealand, Fonterra, Harmonic Aotearoa, Vector, Chapman Tripp and Hesketh Henry.

Enquiries are welcome. Please contact consulting@stat.auckland.ac.nz or email one of the team.


Chris Triggs prof

Chris Triggs
Head of Department
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 88856
Email: triggs@stat.auckland.ac.nz

For more information, please see Chris's profile.

David Scott SCS

David Scott
Director Consulting Services
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 85055
Fax: +64 9 373 7018
Email: d.scott@auckland.ac.nz

For more information, please see David's profile.

Katya Ruggiero prof

Kathy Ruggiero
Senior Lecturer
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 89456
Email: k.ruggiero@auckland.ac.nz

For more information, please see Kathy's profile.

112_Statistics6Jul2011small

Jessica McLay
Research Fellow
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 82010
Email: jessica.mclay@auckland.ac.nz

For more information, please see Jessica's profile.

Karen McDonald 2013

Karen McDonald
Department Manager
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 87483
Email: k.mcdonald@auckland.ac.nz

Yannan Jiang prof

Yannan Jiang
Senior Research Fellow
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 84725
Email: y.jiang@auckland.ac.nz

For more information, please see Yannan's profile.

115_Statistics6Jul2011small

Avinesh Pillai
Research Fellow
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 82368 (Mon-Wed) or ext 81169 (Thurs & Fri)
Email: a.pillai@auckland.ac.nz

For more information, please see Avinesh's profile.

Rachel Chen 2014

Rachel Chen
Research Fellow
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 89384
Email: rachel.chen@auckland.ac.nz

For more information, please see Rachels' profile.